Thursday, 13 May 2010

The new cabinet / government is announced

The full list of Cabinet appointments has now been published:

  • Prime Minister - David Cameron
  • Deputy Prime Minister - Nick Clegg
  • Chancellor of the Exchequer - George Osborne
  • Foreign Secretary - William Hague
  • Secretary of State for Education - Michael Gove
  • Secretary of State for Work and Pensions - Iain Duncan Smith
  • Secretary of State for Health - Andrew Lansley
  • Secretary of State for Scotland - Danny Alexander
  • Secretary of State for Defence - Liam Fox
  • Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change - Chris Huhne
  • Secretary of State for Home Affairs and minister for Women and Equality - Theresa May
  • Secretary of State of Justice and Lord Chancellor - Kenneth Clarke
  • Secretary of State for Business, Innovation and Skills - Vince Cable
  • Chief Whip - Patrick McLoughlin (attending Cabinet)
  • Chief Secretary to the Treasury - David Laws
  • Secretary of State for Communities and Local Government - Eric Pickles
  • Secretary of State for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs - Caroline Spelman
  • Secretary of State for Transport - Philip Hammond
  • Secretary of State for International Development - Andrew Mitchell
  • Secretary of State for Culture, Media and Sport - Jeremy Hunt
  • Secretary of State for Northern Ireland - Owen Paterson
  • Secretary of State for Wales - Cheryl Gillan
  • Leader of the House of Lords, Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster - Lord Strathclyde
  • Leader of the House of Commons, Lord Privy Seal - Sir George Young (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister for the Cabinet Office, Paymaster General - Francis Maude (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister of State, Cabinet Office - Oliver Letwin (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister of State (Universities and Science) - Department for Business, Innovation, and Skills - David Willetts (attending Cabinet)
  • Minister without portfolio - Baroness Warsi (also Conservative Party chairman*)
  • Attorney General - Dominic Grieve (invited to attend when required)

The Shadow Cabinet ministers who missed out on a full Cabinet job are Greg Clark, Theresa Villiers, Nick Herbert, Grant Shapps, Baroness Neville-Jones, Chris Grayling and Mark Francois (and David Mundell). They have all served the party well in Opposition

Some I know well and were recently in Hexham: I very much hope that they will be rewarded with middle-ranking ministerial posts tomorrow.